In North Carolina, the basic speeding law prohibits drivers from driving at a speed that is “greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions then existing.” Ultimately this means the speed at which you should travel depends on the conditions of the road and weather at the time.
In the state of North Carolina, speeding citations can come with expensive ticket fees, higher insurance, and points on your license. In order to reduce points and higher insurance, hiring an attorney can help in doing so. Depending on the speed at which the ticket was given, this decides the penalties that come along with it.
Penalties For a Speeding Ticket
Speeding in North Carolina can come with various penalties ranging from a small fee all the way to a jail sentence depending on the situation you were in. The most common penalty for speeding is a small fine ranging from $10-$250+. In addition to the fine, there are other possible penalties such as…
- Court costs averaging around $200
- Increased insurance costs
- Points on a drivers license
- Suspended drivers license
- Revoked drivers license
- Jail sentence
License Point System
North Carolina uses a point system to keep track of all driver violation convictions, used to keep drivers accountable. Too many demerit points can lead to misdemeanors/felonies, fees, license suspension, and the possibility of having to take a driver improvement and safety class.
Below is the amount of points you will receive on your license based on the violation that occurred.
|Passing stopped bus||5|
|Leaving the scene of accident involving property damage||4|
|Following too closely||4|
|Driving on the wrong side of road||4|
|Failure to yield to a pedestrian or cyclist||4|
|Stop sign, red light, or yield sign violation||3|
|Speeding over 55 miles per hour||3|
|Driving without a license||3|
|Failure to stop for siren||3|
|Failure to report accident||3|
|Speeding in school zone||3|
|Child restraint violation||2|
- 7 points in 3 years
- The driver will have to partake in a driver improvement or safety course to erase these 3 demerit points
- 12 points in 3 years
- Drivers license will be suspended for up to 60 days
After an individual is given their driver’s license back, they are expected to comply with tighter restrictions for the next 3 years. For more information on these restrictions and the consequences that come along with more violations after having your license reinstated, click here.
Over 80 MPH Speeding Consequences in North Carolina
If you are found speeding over 80 MPH in North Carolina, your driving privilege will be revoked for at least 30 days. In addition, your license can be revoked for 60 days if you have two speeding charges within one year, or a speeding plus reckless driving charge on the same occasion.
This means that if you are found speeding over 90 MPH in North Carolina, you can risk getting convicted with reckless driving and lose your license for 60 days if this is your first offense.
|First offense||30 days|
|Second offense within 12 months||60 days|
|Convicted of reckless driving on the same occasion||60 days|
|Two convictions speeding over 55 mph in 12 months||Up to 6 months|
Benefits of Hiring an Attorney
Upon receiving a ticket for speeding in North Carolina, it is important to reach out to an experienced criminal law attorney to take on your case. A benefit to using an attorney for your case is that they are able to help negotiate your speed to a lower speed and in some instances help you keep your license. Getting the speed reduced will lead to fewer demerit points and a reduced driving penalty against you.
Couple fitness coach Lisa Ann and her young student is superdrol safe armbänder fitness discount coupon free uk up to armbänder fitness promo code october 2022
If you or someone you know would like legal representation in court for a speeding citation or are looking for more information, please do not hesitate to reach out at Schehr Law, PLLC